• New Trier's Carly Novelline swims in the 100-yard freestyle at the IHSA state meet Saturday, Nov. 17, in Evanston. Photos by Carlos Alvarez/22nd Century Media

    Girls swimming and diving: Freshmen help lead New Trier at state meet

    November 19, 2018 By Michael Wojtychiw, Sports Editor Sports, High School
    For years, New Trier has been able to mix upperclassmen with underclassmen en route to a successful state team.
  • One of the most popular items on the menu at Glencoe’s Little Red Hen is the made-to-order fried chicken ($10.50 for four-piece dinner). Photos by Eric DeGrechie/22nd Century Media

    Glencoe’s Little Red Hen still soaring after 40 years

    November 21, 2018 By Jason Addy, Contributing Editor Life & Arts, Dining Out

    When Jim Ryba bought into the Little Red Hen franchise in February 1978, the idea of his restaurant in Glencoe outliving the brand likely never crossed his mind.

  • New Trier graduate Sophie Chevalier (center) works with young children during her June visit to Panama. Photos Submitted

    NTHS graduate learns about world, self through service

    November 20, 2018 By Hilary Anderson, Freelance Reporter Life & Arts

    Sophie Chevalier wanted to make a difference. 

  • Lou (left) and Julie Rubin are the owners of Hometown Coffee and Juice at 700 Vernon Ave., Glencoe. Megan Bernard/22nd Century Media

    Downtown Glencoe gets jolt with Hometown Coffee

    November 19, 2018 By Megan Bernard, Editor News, Community

    Glencoe’s new coffeehouse has become a second home for its owners — but, after all, that’s the whole point. 

  • Glencoe Village Trustee Peter Mulvaney reads about Gold Star Soldiers at “Lest We Forget” Nov. 11 at the Glencoe Historical Society. Gerri Fernandez/22nd Century Media

    Community visits Glencoe Historical Society for Veterans Day

    November 16, 2018 By Hilary Anderson, Freelance Reporter News, Community

    It was the Great War, World War I. Glencoe residents were part of the war to end all wars.